HealthSource RI and the Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner established the Market Stability Workgroup charged with determining state-level solutions to keep Rhode Island’s health insurance markets stable. Three Guiding Principles were determined for the group:

  • Sustain a balanced risk pool;
  • Maintain a market that is attractive to carriers, consumers and providers; and
  • Protect coverage gains achieved under the Affordable Care Act.



Workgroup Chairs

  • Stephen Boyle, Chair of Rhode Island’s Health Insurance Advisory Council and President of The Greater Cranston Chamber of Commerce
  • Bill Wray, Chair of HealthSource RI’s Advisory Board and Chief Risk Officer at The Washington Trust

Workgroup Membership

  • Cristina Amedeo, Managing Director of UW 2-1-1 & The POINT, United Way of Rhode Island
  • Al Charbonneau, Executive Director, Rhode Island Business Group on Health
  • Gayle Goldin, Senator, Vice Chair of the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services
  • Jane Hayward, President & Chief Executive Officer, Rhode Island Health Center Association
  • Janet Raymond, Senior Vice President of Economic Development and Operations, Greater Providence Chamber of Commerce
  • Joshua Miller, Senator, Chair of the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services
  • Kim Keck, CFA, President & Chief Executive Officer, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island
  • Larry Warner, MPH, Strategic Initiative Officer, Rhode Island Foundation
  • Peter Hollmann, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Brown Medicine
  • Peter Marino, President & Chief Executive Officer, Neighborhood Health Plan of Rhode Island
  • Ralph Coppola, Senior Advisor, Meridien Financial Group
  • Samuel Salganik, Attorney and Health Policy Analyst, Rhode Island Parent Information Network, Inc.
  • Susan Storti, PhD, RN, President & Chief Executive Officer, Substance Use and Mental Health Leadership Council of Rhode Island
  • Teresa Paiva Weed, President, Hospital Association of Rhode Island
  • Representative Joseph McNamara and Representative Mia Ackerman are also members of the Market Stability Workgroup, however, for reasons due to scheduling challenges, were unable to participate.



Finalized Market Stability Workgroup Report 

Meeting 1: April 18, 2018

Meeting 2: April 25, 2018

Meeting 3: May 1, 2018

Meeting 4: May 8, 2018

Meeting 5: May 15, 2018

Meeting 6: May 22, 2018

Meeting 7: May 29, 2018

Meeting 8: June 5, 2018